SVM Awards

The Society for Vascular Medicine offers a variety of awards to help further our mission of promoting excellence in vascular medicine.

Learn more about SVM Awards:

2013 Award Recipients

Jay D. Coffman Young Investigator Award

Basic Science Award

First Place:
Nazish Sayed, Stanford University
"Leveraging the Innate Immunity Pathway for Transdifferentiation of Fibroblasts to Endothelial Cells"

Geoffrey O. Ouma, Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania
"In Vivo Electroporation of Constitutively Expressed HIF-1 Plasmid DNA Enhances Neovascularization in a Mouse Model of Hindlimb Ischemia"

Clinical Science Award

First Place:
Ulf Bronas,
University of Minnesota
"Exercise Improves Vascular Endothelial Function in Patients with Early Diabetic Kidney Disease"

Deborah A. Hornacek, Cleveland Clinic
"Diagnostic Ability of Duplex Ultrasound to Detect Changes Associated with Carotid and Renal Fibromuscular Dysplasia"

This award is given in honor of Jay D. Coffman, MD, (1928-2006), distinguished internist and researcher of vascular medicine and clinical cardiology, SVM sponsors an annual award in vascular medicine research. Young Investigators apply for the award when they submit an abstract for the SVM Annual Scientific Sessions. Applications are accepted only during the abstract submisison process for the meeting. See past recipients.

Jess R. Young Outstanding Vascular Medicine Educator Award

Marie Gerhard-Herman, MD, FSVM, Brigham & Women’s Hospital

The Jess R. Young Outstanding Vascular Medicine Educator Award is conferred upon individuals who have provided extraordinary service to the Society for Vascular Medicine. The award is presented in honor of Jess R. Young, in recognition of his ground-breaking work in the field of vascular medicine, his pre-eminence as an educator and his vision for multi-specialty programs. See past recipients.

Master of the Society for Vascular Medicine Award

Thom W. Rooke, MD, MSVM, Mayo Clinic

Mary McDermott, MD, MSVM, Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine

The MSVM designation will be conferred upon individuals who have provided extraordinary service to the Society for Vascular Medicine. Such an individual will have been a Fellow of the Society for more than fifteen years. The MSVM awards will be presented by the President at the Annual Meeting. Recipients receive a plaque and are acknowledged in the SVM newsletter. See past recipients.

New in 2013 -- Presidential Distinguished Service Award

Mark Creager, MD, MSVM, Editor-in-Chief, Vascular Medicine

Joanne Normandin, Managing Editor, Vascular Medicine

The first-ever Presidential Distinguished Service Awards were given to Mark Creager, MD, MSVM, for his service to SVM. He has served as Editor in Chief of Vascular Medicine since 1996. Joanne Normandin, managing editor of Vascular Medicine, was honored for her many years of service as well. Presidential Distinguished Service Award

Updated June 20, 2013

Copyright © 2014 The Society for Vascular Medicine. All Rights Reserved. | Terms of Use/Privacy Policy